Palazzo Petrangeli, via Roma 28 Bagnoregio VT | Tel: 380.7626671 | info@discovertuscia.it

Moai

a decidedly poorly kept secret is the presence, at the northern entrance to Vitorchiano, of the only existing Moai far from Easter Island. As a result of some research conducted, it was discovered that the lava stone most compatible, in chemical structure and composition, to that from which the anthropomorphic sculptures we all know were made is precisely the peperino of Vitorchiano. Upon hearing the news, an entire family of 11 indigenous Maori people, originally from Rapa Nui, crossed three continents to come and make a 6-meter monolith equal to the originals, to which they solemnly entrusted the task of guarding the town, its inhabitants and its visitors, of course.

Scegli la tua lingua

Seguici

Scopri anche:

The Rabbi’s House

The Rabbi’s House

named after the hebrew family who made it its home during the Renaissance, this austere structure, built between the 13th and 14th centuries, is one of the most characteristic Houses in the village of Vitorchiano. Located at 28 Via Ugolini, the exterior facade is...

read more
Statue of Marzio

Statue of Marzio

In Piazza Umberto I, to the left of the gate leading to the medieval quarter, the statue of Martius, a peperino sculpture by Luigi Fondi, inspired by the famous Greek Spinario and donated by the artist to the Municipality of Vitorchiano, deserves a second look. The...

read more
The Peony Garden

The Peony Garden

a must-visit in April and May, the Moutan Botanical Center's collection of more than 250,000 plants, including about 600 different varieties of peonies. A walk along the center's picturesque paths, covered in places by fragrant wisteria with delicate pastel petals,...

read more
Hermitical Refuge of St. Michele

Hermitical Refuge of St. Michele

the solitary building, situated on a hill, is decorated with a rose window on the main facade and has a bell gable with a working bell on one side. Inside is a life-size statue of St. Michele made of peperino, the local stone. Its history is noteworthy: originally the...

read more
Church of St. Antonio Abate

Church of St. Antonio Abate

founded in 1406 thanks to the initiative of the Chapter of the Canonici of St. Giovanni, in the course of its history it has been entrusted to the care of several Confraternities, of the Misericordia first, of St. Antonio later. Today the church serves as the...

read more
Church of Santa Maria Assunta in Cielo

Church of Santa Maria Assunta in Cielo

As if it had suddenly sprung up in all its beauty, just in time to be consecrated in 1533 by the then Bishop of Bagnoregio, Bishop Pastorelli, the history of this church begins abruptly. The only other records, prior to that date, merely report restoration and...

read more
Bouldering

Bouldering

for the more intrepid spirits, some rocky ridges offer the opportunity to do climbing without a rope.

read more
Church of Madonna di San Nicola

Church of Madonna di San Nicola

The church and the monastery of St. Nicola in Vitorchiano, both consecrated in the first half of the 16th century, have housed the relics of several saints: St. Martino the bishop, St. Lidano the bishop and even St. Antimo the martyr. The hermit monks of St. Agostino...

read more
The Suspended Village

The Suspended Village

"The suspended village" is located on the slopes of the Cimini Mountains, in the center of the lush Vezza Valley. The village, renowned in the past for the mining and processing of peperino, is perched on a tufa cliff of volcanic origin, formed by the fracture of a...

read more

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This